CKLA has two different components, both of which are taught to first graders on a daily basis:


This is the nuts and bolts of reading and writing. During skills time, kids will practice phonemic awareness, phonics, vocabulary, fluency, comprehension, grammar, handwriting, sentence writing, paragraph writing, and many more elements of literacy.


Each day, the kids listen to a passage read by the teacher. Then they participate in a discussion about the topic (called a domain), and then they complete fun, experiential, dynamic activities related to what they learned and discussed. Most domains have a culminating activity, such as a field trip, museum day, performance, or other event. The topics are divided into eleven domains:

1. Fables and Stories
2. The Human Body
3. Different Lands, Similar Stories
4. Early World Civilizations
5. Early American Civilizations
6. Astronomy
7. History of the Earth
8. Animals and Habitats
9. Fairy Tales
10. A New Nation
11. Frontier Explorers

Click here for more information about CKLA.

eureka logo.png

Math in Focus is a powerful math curriculum that builds understanding of concepts with a frequent use of manipulatives and dynamic math activities. Kids experience a combination of direct instruction, group activities, and hands-on learning. We focus on both strong foundational computational skills, such as fact fluency, as well as problem solving and critical thinking skills.

Our first grade modules include:

M1: Counting, Comparison, and Addition
M2: Addition and Subtraction Relationships
M3: Properties of Operations to Make Easier Problems
M4: Comparison and Composition of Length Measurements
M5: Place Value Concepts to Compare, Add, and Subtract
M6: Attributes of Shapes · Advancing Place Value, Addition, and Subtraction

Click here for more information about Eureka Math Squared.